Influencers

Influence

A lot of you would agree with me that this word has been given credit more than it should and has been interpreted the wrong way in a lot of occasions.

I’m a big believer in word of mouth but influencers and word of mouth are two different things and I’m a bit tired of companies and agencies trying to bribe twitter users. Even though I’m one of those people who has been invited to different conferences and events for being an “influencer,” I have to be honest some of these events haven’t added anything to me or people following me or the company or agency that invited me.

Here are some tips to companies and agencies:

1- Are you talking to the right people? You shouldn’t invite people to something they don’t relate to. Like inviting me to a mango festival when I truly despite mango. (I do)

2- True influencers are those who would actually buy your product (but you’re giving it to them for free) and if they really like it they would tell the world about it and be advocates.

3- Listen! I learned this in my early days in social media for businesses. Listening to what people say online and learn about what they like and don’t like can make a huge difference. Spend few days just searching these people and listening to what they have to say then make a plan on how to involve them.

4- Involve “influencers” and don’t just throw BS at them just because you have some lines to say out loud to the world. Let your plan be meaningful to them and hopefully a fun experience they’ll remember for few months.

5- Influencers shouldn’t be names and numbers on your excel sheets. I tried to do this several times but the true people I could rely on are those who I spend time communicating with them rather than writing about them on my excel sheets like a stalker.

Last but not least, your product should talk about itself or it will fail even if the queen herself promotes it. I refuse to be part of a product that I don’t believe in. I refuse to talk about something that doesn’t grab my interest so you shouldn’t expect this from your list of influencers contacts neither.

One thought on “Influencers

  1. Good points although, although ha🙂, I am almost always against all such tools/techniques/tweaks of marketing sense as they all strive at feeding a consumerism beast inside us + our planet🙂

    (yes, I do realise how it sounds but I am staying my grounds on this one) :p

Leave a Reply

