How I use and don’t use foursquare

Foursquare

Things are changing around us, with facebook check-in and foursquare to swarm, and over sharing on different social networks. I decided to use foursquare differently. I don’t want to use swarm either, don’t want people to know where I am and don’t want to know where people are.

This is how I use foursquare:

1- Locate venues

Very useful to locate restaurants, cafes, or any venue. I use them most when I’m in a new city or going a a place with friends for the first time.

Through maps on foursquare you can navigate using iPhone’s maps or Google maps. Very helpful and 99% of the times very accurate.

2- Read and leave tips

When my friends and I want to decide on a new place, I look into foursquare and read some of the tips and photos people leave. This helps with deciding where to go, the venue’s look and feel so I know what to wear.

3- Venue information

I can find working hours, phone numbers and other useful info that I would need to book or go to a venue.

Sometimes I add places that are not already added while I’m that place and ask employees there for the full info so other people would benefit.

4- Learn about new places

If I’m looking for a steakhouse, sights, outdoor activities, etc, I search in foursquare  and check these places out. Some of them turn out to be great!

Finally, this is how I do NOT use foursquare anymore🙂

– Let people know where I am every minute.

– Occasionally stalk people.

– Collect badges.

 

Leave a Reply

