5 Things I like to see in Twitter

1- Direct messages link on home page to show ONLY the number of UNread messages. It can show the total messages when I go the the DM page.

2- Search Feature on “Followers” and “Following” pages. So I can find someone in my list easily.

3- If someone deletes their sent messages, it should not affect my inbox.

4- Add more than one web link?

5- Auto Complete Twitter handle; for example when i start writing a tweet and want to mention someone; It gives me suggestions of the people I’m following. e.g. I write @shu it gives me suggestion of the rest according to people I follow and their handle starts with “shu” in this case @shusmo . this feature available in some Twitter applications.

The following were added by Ghassan Yonis in comments:

6. numbers of new “mentioned” (or at least notification that there is new mentioned) instead of having to click on the link and go to the “mentioned” page.

7. Integration with 3rd party sites within twitter.com itself

8. Mutual followers (like the mutual friends on Facebook)

9. To know if a person following you (other than try and send him DM)

10. RT with edit link, not just the new RT function.

11. If someone with protected feed mentioned you, you SHOULD see his tweet. He’s talking about you after all!

8 thoughts on “5 Things I like to see in Twitter

  1. GREAT POST. I’ll add to that:
    6. numbers of new “mentioned” (or at least notification that there is new mentioned) instead of having to click on the link and go to the “mentioned” page.
    7. Integration with 3rd party sites within twitter.com itself
    8. Mutual followers (like the mutual friends on Facebook)
    9. To know if a person following you (other than try and send him DM)
    10. RT with edit link, not just the new RT function.
    11. If someone with protected feed mentioned you, you SHOULD see his tweet. He’s talking about you after all!

    @M. Badi
    I hate desktop applications, it

  2. Sorry for that, I hit “submit” before I finish my comment to Badi.

    Badi,
    Desktop application consume resources, and not always practical to use from anywhere. Shouldn’t be depended on them.

  3. Really good points, both yours and Ghassan’s. I would like to see all of them.

    Note that you can get almost all this functionality if you use a third party software like TweetDeck. (Im not recommending it, it sux)

    I think the reason most of this is not being done is because twitter.com is already struggling with the load, they dont need the added load of such functionality.

    Who is paying for all this twitter stuff? What happens if they decide tomorrow to stop giving it for free?

Leave a Reply

