Are You HALT ?

I’ve learned a lot this past few weeks and would like to share it with you; “a friend in need is a friend indeed” I say, a friend in need is a friend for life.. a friend to treasure and cherish. I thank all my faithful friends who been with me all the happy and sad times.. who reached out a hand and got me through my hardest times..

Below is an email I received from my friend when i needed it the most.. It made me cry and feel gratitude..

“Jansait,

Thank you for telling me what is going on with you. You are very brave to be honest. I know what that pressure is like. It can consume you. Bring me to tears. And then I feel totally powerless. I do not believe there is any magic fix for this. In my life I have had to learn how to manage stress. Because of addiction to alcohol, I had to learn how to help control my stress and fear. I had to learn a lot. How to life “Life on Life’s Terms”. Its about acceptance. I have to accept where I am. And if it is a place that causes stress. I have to evaluate. Determine what I can change, AND what I can not. I then focus of what I can change. All the while, doing what I need to lower my fear and stress. Mediation, prayer, exercise, and sleep. Plus I read. I read self-help books. Sounds silly, but it really worked for me. Plus, I made a few friends (took a long time) and their support was very helpful. I know what its like to be so scared/stressed/anxiety that you have to go to the hospital. I have done the same. Usually a few pills and some talking and I am released. The pills help for a while. But the problems are still there. So I had to learn how to better take care of myself. How to determine what in my world I can change. And then set out to make the effort. Yes, I know you can do anything. Anything you want. But that doesnt make it easy. My heart and prayers are with you through this. I am your friend. I am here to support you when you are in need. Please know that you have the power in you to get to a better place. You do. Its not simple. But not impossible. Certainly not for a person as special as you.

So. Deep. breaths. Seriously. Deep breaths. The smile. And remember, H.A.L.T. (Hungry, Angry, Lonely, Tired). When you are feeling upset, or just not “right”, say HALT. And check yourself. Are you Hungry, Angry, Lonely, or Tired? If so take care of THAT 1st, then you will have the personal strength and clarity to work on the rest of your world. But I think you will find that when you take care of HALT 1st, the world just gets better on its own.

But, do read. Look for some self help books. Sure, a lot of them are cheesey. But just as many are VERY good. If you want some recommendations let me know. Oh, and also pray. I am sure you do. But just reminding you to pray for you and your happiness as well.

Think about it. I am always here. I always will be. When you are old and gray, I will be the older, gray’er american that keeps emailing you. Smile.”

5 thoughts on “Are You HALT ?

  1. How wonderful for you having such a wise and caring friend. Knowing that this person is in your life, can go a long way toward healing, can’t it?

  2. Friends are such a blessing. You know, as a Girl Scout when I was little we sang this pretty little song, I think is appropos to the moment. “Make new friends, but keep the old, one is silver and the other gold.” Keep these golden friends around you always…

  3. I just noticed that the three comments are from M, M, M😀

    Mu’men, you’re one of dearest people in my life and your comment was funny🙂

    Mariyah.. yes🙂 i feel gratitude and blessed for having him and other friends that are always with me caring, loving, supporting and most important, true people.. saying the truth when needed..

    MommaBean, thanks a lot for sharing.. im proud of myself to know you🙂 im really lucky to have couple of wonderful American friends who are super supportive.

Leave a Reply

